Skip to content

About Us

The North Carolina SweetPotato Commission Inc. is a nonprofit corporation made up of over 400 sweetpotato growers along with the packers, processors and business associates that support them. The sole purpose of the commission is to increase sweetpotato consumption through education, promotional activities, research and honorable horticultural practices among its producers. Thanks to the six sweetpotato farmers that chartered the commission in 1961, the commission has supported its growers and maintained North Carolina as the No. 1 sweetpotato producing state in the United States since 1971. For more industry stats, please visit our Industry section.

Kelly McIver

In 2015, the North Carolina SweetPotato Commission appointed Kelly McIver executive director of the commission. In her previous position, Kelly worked with NCSPC in her role in the NC Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services (NCDA&CS) International Marketing Department where she assisted the NCSPC and other state agriculture groups to open and develop export markets around the world. Kelly supports the work of the commission in planning, executing and evaluating research and educational programs developed to promote and market North Carolina sweetpotatoes. To contact Kelly, you may email her at

“It is an exciting time for the North Carolina sweetpotato industry.  Our efforts to continue to entice taste buds, push for healthy eating lifestyles, and demonstrate exceptional horticultural practices will continue to advance this industry into the hearts of every consumer.”