Skip to content

North Carolina SweetPotato Commission Foundation

In 2001, the North Carolina SweetPotato Commission Foundation was chartered as a 501 (c) 3 entity.  The charitable, research and educational activities conducted through grants and gifts benefit North Carolina’s sweetpotato industry in the following ways—

  • Developing a clear understanding of consumers needs and expectations
  • Collaborating with researchers and developers for value-added products at the retail and foodservice levels
  • Seeking out opportunities with major food manufacturers to increase sweetpotato processing within the state
  • Improving retail marketing programs to boost sales during “Off Peak” seasons
  • Researching and applying for grant opportunities to fund projects that benefit the industry and consumers which includes  food safety, research as to the health benefits of sweetpotatoes,  market research and development, and development of economic models for farm profitability and sustainability
Grantors to the NCSPC Foundation include:

Copies of project reports and statistics available upon request.

Foundation Board of Directors Contact List

Kendall Hill, President
Tull Hill Farms
2264 Hugo Rd.
Kinston, NC 28501

Jerome Vick, Vice-President
Vick Farms
11124 Christian Road
Wilson, NC 27896

John C. Barnes, Secretary-Treasurer
Farm Pak/Barnes Farming Corp.
7840 Old Bailey Hwy
Spring Hope, NC 27882

Pender Sharp
Sharp Farms
5161 Hwy 581
Sims, NC  27880

Rob Hill
Tull Hill Farms
2264 Hugo Road
Kinston, NC  28501